BMW X5 and X6 Forum 2014-Current
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

07-11-2023, 06:45 PM   #1
AtomicRob
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2017 X5 xDrive40e

X5 Trailer Hitch module coding success

I wanted to share some info about my experience coding for the trailer hitch module. I followed mostly the steps in the esys docs as well as a helpful video on Youtube: youtu.be/HET0KPY3FVE. Huge thanks to shawnsheridan for the helpful links and info, couldn't have done this otherwise!

Prior to coding, I got a Curt hitch installed at a local shop, then I bought and installed the OEM wiring harness and trailer module. Once that was done I had the expected trailer warning on the dash, so it was time to code. After much research I felt confident enough to do it. (Caveat... I've been a software engineer for >25 years and have flashed more firmware than I care to admit. Still, this was a pretty intimidating process.)

I bought an enet cable from Amazon. I set up a spare Windows 10 laptop with mostly default settings except: turned off firewall, turned off Windows Search indexing, disabled wifi adapter. Installed E-sys and the full psdzdata. In the video above and some docs I read elsewhere, it seems like it's necessary to flash the trailer module (AAG) after VO coding so the full psdzdata was needed. I set up my car on a battery charger just in case - it's a hybrid xdrive40e so I think the 12v batteries would have stayed charged via the dc-dc converter anyway but better safe than sorry.