BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-13-2017, 11:37 AM   #1
hyde
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2024 X3m40i

Leasing in PA and NJ - Questions

Hi, I am a NY resident and if I get a good deal from a dealer in NJ or PA, I am considering driving there to pick up the car.

A dealer in PA gave me the out of pocket expenses that I am expected to pay, and it's almost $1000. They have doc fees, supplemental title, and bunch of other stuff.

Can I get some sample worksheets from people who leased in NJ and PA?
With this deal we are losing over 1.5% to these expenses that don't even go towards the vehicle. So if I get 7.5% vs 9% off, I might as well lease in NY even up to 2% difference.
      10-13-2017, 11:53 AM   #2
wedge000
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: N/A

I live in PA and leased in NJ. The only extra fees that came to mind were the Doc fee (which is technically negotiable, even if a lot of places don't want to) and a MACO charge, which I was told was a non-negotiable charge from BMW to the dealer. Evidently different dealers have different MACO charges, and at somewhere around $300-$400 my dealer seemed to be at the high end which made me a bit suspicious.

The only other fee was for a registration or inspection charge that had to be done in PA but the dealer in Jersey agreed to reimburse me for whatever the charge was from my local PA dealer.

I don't think there was anything else.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2017, 01:29 PM   #3
BimmerX5kid
Private
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5, 2021 X3

it should be WAY over $1,000.. the "bank fee" on the lease is $950 alone.. so by me you are coming out of pocket $950 + $350 "doc fee" + another couple hundred for the prepaid registration..

that's why i like to negotiate "sign and drive" deals. I want to pay ZERO up front.. just tell me the all-in keys and carry per month its the best way to find out which guy has the best deal without doing "okay, what is your fees?"...