BMW X5 and X6 Forum 2014-Current
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

04-14-2015, 02:23 PM   #1
patrikr
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2023 760i, 2020 Model X LR

Part taking two week to ship from Germany

Cross-post from BF but didn't get any response so thought I'd try here.

The check engine light came on in my '14 F15 5.0 and I took it to the dealer who found that a hose in the engine was starting to melt so they ordered a new one. Unfortunately the part didn't exist anywhere in the US so they ordered the part as rush from Germany where they had 233 of them. Two weeks later the part still hasn't arrived and is apparently stuck in customs. Is it normal for rush orders to take two weeks or more? This is my first time experiencing this and I compare to having shipped stuff to Europe with FedEx overnight and clearly that's not how BMW seems to work (or my dealership is trying to BS me).
Appreciate 1
      04-14-2015, 03:34 PM   #2
E90Fleet
Lieutenant General
South Africa
Rep
Drives: BMW

Standard parts shipments from the main BMW Dingolfing parts warehouse in Germany take 14 days to get here.

Would think certain p[arts could be rush ordered overnight or within 48 Hours.
Think a USA dealer would have to submit a PUMA case for that first, but im not 100% sure.

Customs is another story. I f the decide to hols a shipment for checking there is nothing the manufacturer can do but wait for them.

Maybe get the head of the dealership to give you an official explanation as to why its taking so long and wasn't rushed ?
      04-14-2015, 03:53 PM   #3
ferrarif1
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: F85, G05, E46M3

My X5 has been at the dealer since March 30 waiting for a new HVAC control panel. The first part replacement was mis-labeled an could not be programmed by the dealer. The second one is supposed to arrive on April 25 from Germany....BMW must be having inventory or spare parts issues again.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2015, 04:00 PM   #4
Anonymous 2
Private
No_Country
Rep