BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

05-31-2016, 03:07 PM   #1
bryantmeyers
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: F90 M5 / 991.1 GT3 /RR Dawn

Eisenmann vs Dinan vs Other Exhausts

Hey everyone,
I have a 2016 X5M (black sapphire metallic).

[post edited]
I am getting dinan stage 1 tuning this week, but undecided on exhaust though leaning Dinan because of price.
Dinan exhaust sounds good on the videos I have seen.
Eisenmann and Akrapovič Exhaust sound great too but seem to be more expensive.

I am not an expert on exhausts and of course each company will tell you theirs is better for various reasons.

Also if there are any better options?

I am leaning Dinan because it is the best price, but feedback appreciated to help me understand differences in sound, performance to justify higher costs.

Thanks

Last edited by bryantmeyers; 05-31-2016 at 03:21 PM..
Appreciate 1
      05-31-2016, 03:40 PM   #2
Alan l.
Major General
Rep
Drives: 2020 F95 X5M Competition

The only difference between the exhausts mentioned is price, looks and sound. Looks and sound is subjective so you really pick based on what you like and feel comfortable paying.

For me they rank like this

Dinan sounds the best
Akrapovic looks the best
Eisenmann is like the middle ground

I went with Dinan because of price and sound. They all yield similar hp gains and on a 600+HP you aren't going to notice it.
      05-31-2016, 03:50 PM   #3
onfireX5
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: F90M5,F85X5M

When you get a hp gain of 6 on a 600hp ride, you are within the margin of error of the dyno. I've logged 100's of runs from 400rwhp to 1500rwhp and it takes a lot of effort to approach 1% repeatability. Aftermarket exhaust for the M is to sound preference. And that is important for a SuperCar like the M.
Appreciate 1
iconoclast7257.50
      05-31-2016, 09:33 PM   #4
bryantmeyers
Enlisted Member
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan l. View Post