Private First Class
Rep
Drives: F82

Garage List
2005 Volkswagen  [0.00]
2013 Audi A4  [0.00]
2018 BMW M4  [0.00]
Towing and Brake Controller

Hello, this is my first time towing anything. I purchased the Trailex CT-8055 and the Stealth Hitch with the towing conversion kit. I also understand that I require a brake controller for the trailer which has electronic brakes. Does anyone have any experience with this. It seems the only discussion I could find was on the F15 forums and the "Tekonsha Prodigy RF Wireless Trailer Brake Controller w/ Bluetooth - 1 to 3 Axles - Proportional" was suggested.

Any experience would be greatly appreciated as I'm towing from Cincinnati to Orlando and want to be as safe as possible!
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2022, 03:21 PM   #2
kefler
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2018 X5m / Alpine White

I had never towed anything before, but I managed to install a stealth hitch myself and tow this 1000 miles last summer.

Everything went great, I did the full hitch kit including the tow module for the car which handled wiring as well as blind spot disablement, tow hitch camera view, and I believe alternate transmission mapping when towing.

I didn't get a brake controller at all and had no issues. I guess this was a lot lighter than a boat, but I certainly drove it fast on the open highway for many hours.

The real problem was 8.9MPG on legs of the trip!
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2022, 03:40 PM   #3
JesusLovesU
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: F82

Garage List
2005 Volkswagen  [0.00]
2013 Audi A4  [0.00]
2018 BMW M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kefler View Post
I had never towed anything before, but I managed to install a stealth hitch myself and tow this 1000 miles last summer.

Everything went great, I did the full hitch kit including the tow module for the car which handled wiring as well as blind spot disablement, tow hitch camera view, and I believe alternate transmission mapping when towing.