BMW X5 and X6 Forum 2014-Current
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW X5 and X6 Forum (F15/F16) > BMW X5 (F15) and BMW X6 (F16) Forum > BMW X5 and X6 (F15/F16) Forum

01-25-2016, 05:41 PM   #1
X54TH
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2019 X5 40i M Sport

Garage List
Didn't know...hurting your engine by 'warming up' the car

Interesting read I found on MSN: Stop hurting your engine by 'warming up' the car when it's cold out http://a.msn.com/08/en-us/BBowQ2l?ocid=se. I thought in these extreme cold temperatures I was doing a good thing. I guess not!
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2016, 08:10 PM   #2
Kzang
Major General
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5 35i Msport SG

As the car manual states, drive immediately but keep the rpm's low until fully warm.
Thats what I have been doing for the past 5 to 6 years on all my BMW's.
      01-25-2016, 08:27 PM   #3
X54TH
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2019 X5 40i M Sport

Garage List
LOL, I should read the manual The good thing is my wife and kids never warm up their BMW's...They figure it's in the garage so it's warm enough plus they don't believe in wasting gas well not theirs anyway. My Jeep GC sits out and I sure do love the remote start that has those seats and steering wheel toasty before getting in and having the A/C & cooling seats come on in the summer is fantastic. I think the X5 in Europe has a good solution to a remote start. Anyway, I found the article interesting and obviously had no idea...poor friggin Jeep.
Appreciate 1
      01-26-2016, 03:01 AM   #4
MattBianco
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5 35d msport

Exactly as I was taught in Germany in 1981. Turn on, maximum wait 15-30 seconds, drive keeping the rpm low until warmed up.
      01-26-2016, 10:16 AM   #5
ano0oj
Captain
Rep
Drives: '22 M3 AWD, '23 Macan S

So is it bad to wait until the RPMs drop a little after an initial cold start (say 10-15 seconds after)?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2016, 11:10 AM   #6
sapper5
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5 50i M-sport