BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

07-07-2022, 09:31 AM   #1
Roymus
Rep
Drives: X3M40i

New X3M40i owner, question about XM/iDrive TuneStart

Hello all: I just picked up a CPO 2019 X3M40i. It’s my first BMW and so far, it’s not hyperbole to say I’ve fallen in love with this sleek beast. I’m coming from a Nissan Rogue SV which is like a sewing machine on wheels by comparison.

I’m a techie by trade and I like my tech to work the way I want it. One of the features I love about the new generation of OEM XM radios is the TuneStart feature, which I first encountered on the Nissan. For those of you not familiar, this is the feature of the XM radio where it will automatically cache a few minutes of your preprogrammed XM favorite stations, so when you tune to a favorite station, it will automatically start at the beginning of the song. It’s great for catching an oldie but goodie, and even better on road trips if you like listening to comedy stations…that way you catch the whole bit. The caching happens in the background so you don’t have to do anything…at least with the Nissan I didn’t. With the BMW tech, it’s a bit trickier (like most things I’m finding, but I like a challenge):