bimmerpost/
BMW M2 and 2-Series Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
BMW 2 Series Technical Topics (G42) Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in | Oil & Fluids | Servicing | TSB | Recalls

01-10-2024, 09:09 PM   #1
oldbmwtech
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW M240i

DIY Oil Change

There is a few post about DYI oil changes but no one here has mentioned SIB 11-02-20. Oil priming before starting engine. Just wondering if everyone knows about this.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf BMW SIB 11-02-20 oil priming.pdf (165.5 KB, 104 views)
This is only my opinion as I'm a retired professional ASE master grease monkey technician, now instructor. Your best teacher is your last mistake. Use what I post at your own risk as you know teachers only know book knowledge.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2024, 02:13 AM   #2
Pentland
Colonel
Rep
Drives: BMW M240i (G42)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbmwtech View Post
There is a few post about DYI oil changes but no one here has mentioned SIB 11-02-20. Oil priming before starting engine. Just wondering if everyone knows about this.
Don’t think it’s applicable to an oil change.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2024, 03:36 PM   #3
TJZ67201
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: '23 M240i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentland View Post
Don’t think it’s applicable to an oil change.
Definitely not. It specifically states this is the process for replacing or rebuilding a WHOLE engine. Definitely not needed for a basic oil change
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2024, 08:57 AM   #4
Wasp_Factory
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2023 M240i xDrive

Interesting document. I undertook my own oil replacement. I warmed the engine, took a reading (showed full on iDrive), undid the sump plug and went for a cup of tea for 20 mins. When I got back, there was a slow drip of residual oil into the pan every 3 seconds to so, so probably as much as you'll ever be able to get out.